Deep in the Heart of Texas

The stars at night-are big and bright…..

Well, here I am!  Not quite all moved in, but I am here, in the hot, Hot, HOT heart of Denton, TX, which is about 30 minutes north of Dallas.  I can truly say that everything is just a little bit bigger here…..and anyone who thinks Denton is a little town in the middle of nowhere (like I did) is severely mistaken….there is more traffic here than in LA, and it’s allll the time.  I’m not quite sure when rush hour is, but does 9:30 pm on a Tuesday count?  Because I was in gridlock for half an hour.

The prairie sky- is bright and high…..

The drive here from Colorado was great!  New Mexico was actually kind of pretty, and I saw an Armadillo outside of Amarillo….lol, but other wise, the drive was uneventful, and, as we were partly on Route 66, we saw many a ghost town along the way.  It was quite an interesting drive, and very long.  Nine hundred miles was far too many miles to drive.

The sage in bloom-is like perfume…..

The college is great, already, and I haven’t even met anyone yet!  I haven’t seen my teacher, or any of the bassoon students yet, and I can’t even find the double reed room (I hear it is epic) but it’s a big school, and I’m sure, once orientation starts, I’ll meet so many people I won’t even be able to comprehend the amount of names I will have to learn.  It’s exciting and new, and I can’t wait to meet everyone!

My apartment it really amazing too.  Two pools, basketball courts, and I am living off of Colorado Blvd (coincidence?).  The mall, super target, super walmart, a strip mall, and a bazillion restaurants are just down the block.  If it wasn’t so hot, I would walk!  But unlike Baltimore, you never see anyone on the streets.  Not even at the University.

Reminds me of – the one I love…..

I still miss Baltimore.  I miss my friends, and my old school.  I hope a trip to Dallas can cure me of my big city yearnings and maybe make me feel just a little bit better about moving from my beloved Maryland to the hottest, most congested place in the universe.  I’m hoping the Dallas Symphony, Wind Symphony, and music venues can help with that as well, and make me feel a bit more at home.

The cowboys cry – ki-yip-pie-yi…..

Dallas Symphony is opening their season, on my birthday, with Eroica.  Don’t think I’m not going.  Also, Jeffery Kahane is joining them to play Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4.  I’m really looking forward to the concert, and I hope I can find a friend to go with.  It is my birthday after all…..

UNT is beginning their orchestra season with Dvorak Cello Concerto, and Symphonie Fantastique…..Not a bad season opener, right?  I hope I can be involved, and I’m really looking forward to it! (Technically, UNT is opening their season for the Dallas Cowboys at Cowboys Stadium. *?*  But I don’t really understand what’s going on with that, so I’m not asking any questions….lol)

The rabbits rush – around the brush…..

During a lesson two weeks ago, I basically paid $45 to have my butt handed to me on a silver platter (and try out a bocal that I subsequently bought), and I totally deserved it.  I’ve been lazy about practicing for a while.  Especially since my recital was over.  I just have to put down the hours, in the practice room, and forget about how long it takes me to learn something (cleanly and with precision) than it does someone else.  If you have to practice 2 more hours a day than someone else, it shouldn’t matter.  It’s about the product, and what happens at the end of that practicing that takes precedent.  So, needless to say, my practicing has become a lot more meticulous in the last couple of weeks.  To the point where I am practicing things at 40 bpm for days before things sound just right.   I have to stop wasting time in the practice room.

The coyotes wail – along the trail….

As usual, I will probably try to stay optimistic in these blogs, yet still complain constantly to anyone who will listen.  Being optimistic in the blog makes me remember what it is to be optimistic about later when I’m reading it. I’ll let you guys know how the tests/first day of class go.  Should be interesting and fun.


3 thoughts on “Deep in the Heart of Texas

  1. Hey, you sound great! I’m glad your move went so well.

    900 mi. is endless!

    I once shared driving from MA to Aspen w/one other person ~ a bassoonist (!). At the start, we didn’t know each other except casually. By the time we hit Kansas, we were listening to ANYTHING on the radio & laughing our heads off.

    Later that same summer, a friend of mine did the same trip on the BUS. Can you imagine? I met her upon arrival. She could barely walk.

    Have fun!

    Gretchen

  2. On the Bus!?!?! OMG, that sounds awful! Well, we bassoonists are the most fun road trippers, of course! And the radio choices were rather hilarious, especially in New Mexico. 🙂

Leave a Reply

