Best Bassoon Week Ever!!! (7/7/13-7/13/13)

Hey Everyone!

I’m so excited to be back!  Have you missed me?

So I decided to take a little hiatus, because summer, and summer school, and a lot of other things going on in the life of this very over worked bassoon student.

So, it’s been a while, I know.  But I think we can all get back into this together.  So many things happened in the last couple of weeks!  IDRS Conference happened (didn’t get to go, but whatever), and SO MANY of you great bassoonists out there posted videos!  LOTS AND LOTS OF VIDEOS!  So many, that I was going to do a blog last week, but it took me a few days to go through all of them.

So lets get crackin’!

Alex Shapiro posted a video of Ryan Hare playing of Breath and Touch, a piece she wrote in 1999 for Carolyn Beck.

This is personally one of my favorite pieces from Beck’s CD.  I am really glad she posted this.  It certainly doesn’t get enough good playing time.  I wish I heard music like this at more masters and doctoral recitals.

A piece premiered by the Rotterdam Ensemble made its way to the interwebs this last month.   Marlijn Helder’s Italian Concerto for Violin and Bassoon is a gorgeous piece for these two opposing instruments.  All three movements are on youtube, and as soon as I heard the third movement, I couldn’t wait to hear the whole thing.

This third piece is amazing.  Pieces like these remind me of how little I know about new music, new bassoon music, and how rich it really is.  (The music in the video does not go to the composition…it’s the cover of all his videos)  From the description on youtube: Dialogue for Bassoon and 11 Instruments by Rule Beasley. Composed initially for bassoon and organ, this work was subsequently restored for a small mix of woodwinds, brass, percussion, and strings. Your composer is the bassoon soloist.

What an incredible piece.  I’m definitely getting a copy of this as soon as possible.

And Bassoon Video of the Week goes to the Breaking Winds Bassoon Quartet!

Take it away, ladies….

See ya’ll next week!!

Leave a Reply

